Weekly Photo Challenge: Opposites

1-baneberry

I stumbled upon this beautiful shrub yesterday while working in the field.  The red fruit reminded me of the red elderberry, although the leaves were not lance-shaped like Sambucus racemosa.  When I returned home, I referenced my dog-eared copy of Pojar and Mackinnon’s Plants of the Pacific Northwest Coast and learned that this stunning specimen was in fact a fatal attraction!  Known as Baneberry or Actaea rubra, this rhizomatous perennial plant belongs in the buttercup family and can be the bane of your existence should you decide to ingest the berries, foliage or roots.  The berries are highly poisonous and can cause paralysis of respiration and the rootstock is a violent purgative and emetic (Pojar and Mackinnon pg. 179).  All these punishing side effects from such a pretty little perennial…a strange paradox, indeed!  Additionally, notice how the striking red of the berries contrasts with the green leaves, two colors that are opposites on the color wheel, complements of Nature 🙂

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Opposites

  1. Prior-2001 says:

    Interesting shrub and nice entry for wpc

  2. jfreshly says:

    “First you must find… another shrubbery! Then, when you have found the shrubbery, you must place it here, beside this shrubbery, only slightly higher so you get a two layer effect with a little path running down the middle. (“A path! A path!”) Then, you must cut down the mightiest tree in the forrest… with… a herring!” (Monty Python Quote). Great picture as usual!

  3. loisajay says:

    Such a toxic opposite, but a very beautiful photograph. As always! Have a great weekend, Tyler.

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Nice photograph, Tyler. I will know to not eat it if I ever run across it when I’m hungry! Thanks! You may have just saved my life! Happy 4th.
    Peace
    Mary

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    PS. Hey Tyler, how do you write on your photographs? I used to do it with Picasa, but since Google discontinued it, I’m lost. I tried photoshop, but it won’t let me export my photos into my program that I use to put them on my blog. Grrrrr.
    Thanks,
    Mary

    • I use Picasa 3. I didn’t know it was discontinued. Haven’t tried any other programs, so I’m sorry I can’t be of much help. Hopefully you can figure out a way to put your name on your photos. Let me know if you do just in case I can’t use Picasa in the future. Thanks!

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

        I can still use it for my old pictures, but it hasn’t imported any from my pictures file. since June 5. Might just be my computer. It’s pretty full. I’ll let you know if I figure anything else out! Thanks.

  6. janettoms says:

    The berries look so enticing. I wonder if birds eath them?

  7. Nature is always fascinating! And the contrasting colours make for a stunning shot.

  8. What an innocent looking plant with such a dangerous bad side.

  9. Tammi Kale says:

    Stunning posts! Glad I found you!

  10. Nice imahe…thanks for sharing and for your continuing interest in Elm Drive Images.

Leave a Reply

