Weekly Photo Challenge: Jubilant

Meet the newest member of our family…Miles the Corgi!  He is 3.5 years old and we adopted him from the Heartland Humane Society in Corvallis, Oregon yesterday.  His name was inspired by Miles Prower (aka Tails) who is the sidekick of Sonic the Hedgehog.  He looks like the superhero fox, albeit minus the second tail, and he has enough energy to run for miles and miles!  It has been over a month since we lost our beloved Beagle-Corgi mix, Izzy, and Miles has given us closure and filled our house with joy.   Our two cats are still warming up to Miles and Raven, our older flat coat retriever, has a new companion.  What a jubilant occasion, indeed!

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Jubilant

  1. he certainly looks happy and relaxed in his new home. Dogs do fill a house with joy

    • Yes, Miles is acclimating just fine! He is full of playful energy & is so cute when he sploots 🙂 We are very happy to have him in our lives! Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. Lindy Le Coq says:

    The Corgi’s I know are such fun to watch — always on the lookout for someone to run and play with! So glad for you and your family!

    • Yes, so true! Once you own a Corgi, it’s hard to find a better friend. Miles looks & acts like a smaller version of Izzy. He is full of playful energy & is so cute when he sploots (this is a term that describes how Corgi’s sit with their back legs spread out). We are very happy to have him in our lives! Thank you for your kind words & have a wonderful week ahead, Lindy 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. How absolutely wonderful. Congratulations to all of you. Fabulous and truly joyful photo. ❤

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Miles is full of playful energy & cute beyond belief (especially when he sploots!). We are very happy to own another Corgi & Miles is helping us move on & create more jubilant memories! I hope you have a wonderful Sunday & all the best in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  4. SoyBend says:

    What a cutie! Thanks for adopting from a Humane Society shelter.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! We have adopted all of our pets from shelters and it has been a wonderful experience each time 🙂 Have a lovely Sunday & all the best in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  5. Mish says:

    So happy for you….and Miles!!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! When we lost Izzy, I didn’t think we could ever move on & find another dog…but we were very lucky & found Miles who is just like a smaller version of Izzy. He is so full of playful energy and is cute beyond belief! Miles is a welcome addition to our family & is fitting in perfectly 🙂 Have a wonderful Sunday & best wishes on the week ahead, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    Congratulations on your new addition.
    He sure is a handsome fella.
    Welcome to your Forever Home, Miles!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Miles is a loving dog full of playful energy. We are quickly becoming attached 🙂 Have a wonderful week ahead, Lisa!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  7. puzzleblume says:

    He seems to enjoy to be at home with you – very cute.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, we are quickly becoming attached to each other 🙂 Miles has so much energy and is quite the charmer. I hope you have a wonderful week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  8. mtcandia says:

    Happy for all of you!

  9. Good for you for adopting! Cute and happy! 🙂

  10. Annika Perry says:

    Ahh…Miles is so cute and sweet, relaxing, happy, jubilant too in his new home. I’m glad he is helping you after your loss.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, indeed, we are both jubilant to share in each other’s company 🙂 Miles is a perfect fit and we are excited to create many wonderful new memories. All the best in the week ahead, Annika!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  11. His personality just shines! What a wonderful gift of joy you have been given!🐾🐾

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, Miles certainly has a glowing smile and playful personality 🙂 We feel very fortunate to have found him and share in each other’s lives. I hope you had a good weekend and I wish you all the best in the week ahead 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  12. kokodynia says:

    I just noticed he is sitting with his back legs spread out, similar like bunnies do, such a lovely custom! I had no idea before Corgis do it ! He is absolutely fantastic :-))

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! When Corgis sit with their back legs spread out, it’s called splooting! What a fun, wonderful word…certainly one of his many endearing qualities. My wife and I feel very fortunate to have found Miles and share each other’s lives! I wish you all the best in the week ahead 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  13. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    What an absolutely cool looking dog!!!! I adore Corgis. My faerie god daughter has one. Very smart, loving, playful and sort of whimsical to watch with those little legs. Love the term sploots. My bunny did that. So happy you have him now. It’s so hard moving forward toward getting another dog. I don’t wait years anymore, like I used to. Dogs are love in a body.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Corgis are loving dogs with endearing personalities. My wife and I feel very fortunate to have found Miles and can’t wait to share in each other’s lives. Yes, I’ve always loved the word ‘sploot’…it’s as fun to say it and it is to see Miles doing it 🙂 We thought we were going to wait longer, but then this opportunity presented itself and we couldn’t pass up adopting Miles. The easiest decision we’ve ever had to make 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful weekend, Mary, and all the best in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  14. loisajay says:

    Hello Miles! Don’t wear out poor Raven! 🙂 What a cutie you have rescued, Tyler. I am so happy for you and your family. And I love the word ‘splooting!’

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Miles is quite the splooter and full of playful energy. He’s just what our family needed 🙂 I hope you had a restful weekend & all the best in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  15. Amazing and beautiful.

  16. ramblingratz says:

    Wonderful, it is always good to have new friends 🙂

  17. Gallivanta says:

    I am jubilant for you!

  18. beverlydyer says:

    Love heals! Congratulations!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, love heals! Miles is exactly what we needed & he is helping us move on 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful weekend, Beverly!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  19. treesshrubs says:

    awesome pic!!! beautiful!

  20. Julia Greef says:

    Yay! Wishing you many many happy hours together.

  21. A // W // F says:

    Oh goodness!! Miles is dangerously adorable, and he’ll surely figure that out soon enough. 😉

    My dearest girlfriend in college had Corgis, and they are such fun happy dogs! I know you’re going to love having this little guy in your life. Congrats!! 🙂

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Miles is just what our family needed & he is helping us heal & move on. What a bundle of energy…a truly fun-loving & compassionate creature 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful weekend and all the best in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  22. Thank you for liking, Arry, the Brown Squirrel.

  23. Jane says:

    Love Corgis and love your photography! My Papillion mixes sploot all the time. Sweet shot of your new baby and his blankie.

    • Thank you, my friend! I appreciate your kind words and the follow 🙂 I look forward to following you as well. Corgis are the best dogs ever! Have a great week, Jane 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  24. So sorry to hear about your Izzy. That’s never an easy time. But, how sweet Miles is. He’s adorable! Lot’s o’ lovin’ there! 😀 ❤

    • Thank you kindly, my friend 🙂 Miles has helped us heal and move on. And as you noticed, he is fitting in quite nicely! Have a great week, Linda 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  25. Miles is a lovely dog. I’m sure he’ll be thrilled with his new family.:)

Leave a Reply

