Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration

1-13062222_10100682102483186_9186471640622479378_n

There is something sacred and beautiful about planting a tree.  Then to watch it grow and eventually tower over you…how humbling and empowering all at once.  If everyone planted a few hundred trees in their lifetime, think of the positive cumulative impact on world health and happiness.  Let us take a moment everyday to admire and nurture the roots of life on this planet…plant a tree, water and tend to its needs, and in old age, sit under its shade with a smile.  When we act out of pure love and compassion for one another, our spiritual growth is limitless.  Our actions speak through the towering trees whispering in the breeze.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration

  1. loisajay says:

    What a beautiful and meaningful post, Tyler. Wouldn’t that be an amazing thing if we all planted trees? I have a co-worker who shared with me that when she and her husband moved into their new house, the first thing they did was take down all the trees around it. I looked at her with shock and disbelief and said, “You do what?” I could not believe she was telling me that. I live in the Florida Panhandle (Hurricane Alley), so during hurricane season, this was her was of making sure that no trees fell on her house. Still….shock and disbelief.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we all planted trees? If we did, I’m sure your co-worker wouldn’t be so quick to cut them down. Once you form a connection with another living being & invest in its growth and survival, planting a tree goes much deeper than healing the Earth…we are caring for each other, laying the foundation of our humanity (and humility) and fostering a brighter future. Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. Amy says:

    Beautiful photo! Well put. 🙂

  3. We’ve moved a lot during our married life – and we’ve always planted trees wherever we’ve gone.

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Yes, to plant a tree and care for it, a relationship forms. I feel like I have a relationship with all of our trees even though we didn’t plant them. They are family. Thank you for this post. Beautiful photo.
    Peace and planting of trees
    Mary

  5. Miriam says:

    I love this post Tyler. It speaks to me and how I see the world. Simply beautiful.

  6. Awesome post! I love planting trees and even flowers! 🙂

  7. Jude says:

    Many years ago I was working on a farm in British Columbia, Canada, for my ex-hubby, and for a couple of days my job was to plant 500 trees in an area that had been logged. It was hard work, very hot, fighting flies, and stumbling over rough terrain, but rewarding thinking about the future of those little seedlings. I hope they all grew! Lovely post Tyler!

  8. phoebecarter65 says:

    Reflective; … and beautiful! 🙂

    >

  9. Hi Tyler – I’m feeling closer and closer to trees – I planted an apple tree a couple of years ago and I’ve watched it grow and stretch its branches. This year it is covered with fruit – I’m being patient and waiting and waiting until they are ripe. There are other trees that definitely tower over me – they feel like quiet steadfast guardians. I really respect your point of view 🙂

  10. Yes, compassion is a means to spiritual growth, and to happiness, in both the giver and the receiver. Let there be more kindness in the world.

  11. Well spoken. God gives us so many beautiful things and all we have to do is stop and enjoy them. I definitely am a nature lover and a plant collector.

Leave a Reply

