Weekly Photo Challenge: Dinnertime!

Ladybugs are aphid-eating machines and considered to be a sign of good luck in many countries.  After adult Ladybugs lay thousands of eggs, their larvae will hatch and begin chowing down on these pests at a rate of 50 aphids per Ladybug per day!  If you have an infestation of aphids in your garden, release these beneficial beetles and your disheveled greens will be healthy again and fit to grace your dinner plate!   There are over 300 species of Ladybugs in North America (and 6,000 world-wide) and they come in many colors like red, yellow, white, orange and black.  This bright coloration helps warn birds and other predators of their unpleasant taste.  Not all Ladybugs have spots and those that do have spots that fade as they grow older.  On average, Ladybugs live between 4-10 months and experience four stages of development: egg, larva, pupa and adult.  For such a small, short-lived creature, Ladybugs make a big impact on the quality of fresh produce from your garden or local farm to the table!  

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Dinnertime!

  1. Wow…that’s something! 🙂

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Ladybugs are amazing! I love it when they surprise me and land on my arm or shirt. Then they walk around for awhile & fly off to save someone else’s garden 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. So lovely! Nature always finds its way 🙂

  3. Majka says:

    Great post, I love the information about ladybugs. 🙂

  4. sandyjwhite says:

    Those are fun ladybug facts. I didn’t realize their spots faded with age. I’m always happy to see them rid my pansies of aphids!

  5. we need a few here right now…

  6. Annika Perry says:

    This week we have been blessed with an invasion of ladybirds, gathering in large groups on plants around the garden, almost as if they’re sunning themselves! Thanks for sharing all this information about them; very interesting. We don’t have any fresh produce that needs saving but are just enjoying their presence.

  7. Not just a pretty bug! 😆🌿

  8. Amy says:

    What an amazing capture of Ladybugs!! 🙂

  9. Amy Pantone says:

    We have lots of lady bugs. I will put them to work in our garden. Thanks for the tip!

  10. Tina Schell says:

    One ladybug is great. Infestation in the basement, not so good!!! Took us weeks to figure out why we had so many upstairs until we found their nest downstairs. Fun post!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m sorry about your infestation. Ladybugs are practical beetles and not usually considered pests. But in your case, two is company and a basement full is a crowd 😉 Have a wonderful weekend, Tina!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  11. We always loved ladybugs but now there are beetles that look like ladybugs but they BITE! So I don’t let them crawl on me any longer.

  12. Wow! I’ve never seen that many before. Good shot!

  13. There’s a song that my parrots love from Sesame Street called Ladybugs’ Picnic. Your wonderful photo goes with it very well! 🙂

  14. janettoms says:

    Thank you for this. There is an English rhyme that says: ladybird, ladybird, fly away home; your hours is on fire and your children alone.

  15. Got to love a ladybird…..( British name) ….they are just so cheerfully coloured and as you say they our dinner from aphid mouths😆

  16. AND they are so cute!! Love ladybugs. I always point them toward my roses, if I can. They don’t train easily 😉.

    • Yes, very true! Instead of the movie, “How to train your dragon” it should be “How to train your ladybug”! I would definitely watch this for useful tips 😉 Thanks for stopping by & have a wonderful weekend, Janet!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  17. maristravels says:

    Thanks for the lesson on ladybugs. Now I can wage war on the aphids that are destroying my plants, using my own very person spotted army platoon.

  18. phoebecarter65 says:

    Ladybugs – ‘ladybirds’ here in the UK – are probably my favourite insect. Thank you for sharing this post. Interesting to see that these particular ones have quite pointed behinds… They look a bit more sinister than the rounded bottomed ones here in the UK 🙂

    >

Leave a Reply

