Weekly Photo Challenge: Alphabet

1-199800_505467971206_241_n

Photo of Main Hall on the University of Montana campus in Missoula with the ‘M’ of Mount Sentinel in the background.  In 2006, I graduated U of M with a Bachelor of Arts degree, majoring in Ecology and minoring in Art History and Criticism.  Whenever I wasn’t busy studying, I found time to explore the mountains and trails, take photos and become inspired by Nature.  I began writing poetry based on my photos and outdoor excursions, and in 2007, I self-published my first book of poetry and photography, Nostalgia, Naturally.  This week’s photo challenge re-affirmed how photography provided the impetus for my love of letters and writing poetry.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Alphabet

  1. Your commentary is as amazing as the photo. I missed your work during my seven month break. I am so happy to be reading you again.

  2. Nicodemas says:

    This is wonderful.

  3. Jessica Adam says:

    Hi there. I love that you self-published! I am considering doing that myself. Also, had no idea Criticism was a subject. 🙂 I admire your passion for poetry. I’m stumbling around in it, though poems are kind of tough. Your photos are wonderful. 🙂

  4. franciscocamacho2016 says:

    Wonderful pictures..! : o )

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    I always love your photos and poetry!
    Mary

  6. 2ndhalfolife says:

    Nice! Great photo even then!

  7. Jim Streeter says:

    Its still the same, we live in Missoula. Nice photo

    • Thank you kindly, Jim! Always a pleasure meeting a fellow Montanan. I grew up in Helena and went to Griz football games with my dad and grandpa. If I have the opportunity to land a job in Missoula, I’d move back in a heartbeat. Oregon is a great State to live in, but there’s no place like Big Sky Country, my home. Have a wonderful rest of your weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • Jim Streeter says:

        Missoula has changed in that it is getting bigger but the mountains are still there. Have a good day, Jim

  8. Looks like a place where wandering into the hills is part of the curriculum.

  9. I like your photos. But the combination of a photo and a short story is a winning combination, like with this post This is how I’ve chosen to present my poems. I don’t enjoy obscure poetry, and enjoy telling the back story of my poems. I also think your poetry is marvelous, quality stuff.

Leave a Reply

