Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops!

1-1929152_510492477056_6539_n

This is an older photo taken in 2007 while I was tracking turtles for scientific research in Lockport, Illinois.  We trapped these two whopper snappers (Snapping turtles) and put them into large totes in the basement for safekeeping before weighing and measuring them.  I remember going inside what we affectionately called the “Turtle house” and then suddenly hearing a loud crash.  As I stepped out the front door, I saw the snapping turtles had escaped their holding cells and were climbing furiously up the stairs.  I had to laugh at their unusual speed and agility whilst carrying the weight of the world on their shoulders.  This moment reaffirmed that Nature cannot be tamed or contained.  As my dad says, “think outside, no box required!”

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops!

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Hahaha!! Love this. Must have been a funny sight. Think outside. No box required. Good line.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Yes, it was quite a humorous moment 🙂 Two jumbo turtles tumbling out of totes and hightailing it up the stairs towards daylight! I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. Vonita says:

    They look so sweet!

    • Thank you! Common snapping turtles are feisty and tough. Their jaws snap like a steel trap and you must watch where you put your fingers! They have a “sweetness” all their own 😉 I adore turtles, so they are precious no matter their attitude or appearance! Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  3. Jen E Town says:

    I love their determination and bravery. Staying Alive ! Thank you for sharing this again. Very up lifting ❤

  4. Very nice! We helped relocate wayward snappers when I was young (with a park ranger’s help). You can hypnotize them to oblivion (temporarily) by gently rubbing the anterior side of their shell edge with a dull file.

  5. I hope they got back to the water in short order.

    • Yes, we returned them to the water toot sweet. They were a feisty duo to work up! It was a humorous moment seeing them escape the totes and tag team the stairs! If I came back in another life, I’d be a turtle or a tree 😉 Have a wonderful day, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  6. I’ve seen snappers move quickly too. Surprised me because we always think of turtles moving slowly. “Like a herd of turtles,” my dad would say. You captured that moment well. Turtle getaway!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! So glad you enjoyed my post 🙂 There is actually a band named “Trampled by turtles”! Very apt description 😉 Have a wonderful weekend, Paula!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  7. Tina Schell says:

    Turtle getaway indeed! Good choice for the challenge!

    • Thank you kindly, Tina! So glad you enjoyed my turtle getaway! It was certainly a humorous moment to behold…and very surprising to see jumbo snappers move so fast! Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  8. LOL … thanks for the laugh. Those turtles look so cute trying to make that long climb. I good example of perseverance.
    Isadora 😎

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! So glad you enjoyed my post 🙂 It was a humorous moment watching two jumbo turtles escape their totes and hightail it up the stairs towards daylight! Snapping turtles are surprisingly agile and fast. They wouldn’t have survived this long if they couldn’t move their mountainous shells. I hope you have a wonderful day, Isadora!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  9. Pieter Navis says:

    Love the advice your dad gave you 😀

    • Thank you, Pieter 😊 My dad is a font of wisdom. He won teacher of the year in Montana in 2012 & got to meet President Obama. He is in his 39th (and final) year of teaching biology and science seminar. I’m very proud of him & am lucky to have him as my friend & father! Happy Holidays & best wishes to you & yours in 2016 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  10. Snappers are a feisty lot! Had I seen this coming up the steps I would’ve gone the other way!

  11. dunelight says:

    I often stop to help turtles cross the road in the spring. I tried to help a snapper once. As he was a snapper I did NOT even try to pick him up … I nudged him with my cane. Fast..so very fast.

  12. amanpan says:

    I love turtles and thank you for sharing this. I can just picture them climbing up stairs. I t had to be a sight to see.

    • You are very welcome, my friend! It’s my pleasure 🙂 Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comment! Yes, it was quite a sight to behold. Who knew turtles could move this fast, especially climbing up the stairs! Have a wonderful weekend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  13. the quest for freedom never ends

Leave a Reply

