Sticking point

The ancient eavesdropper

Parched are my thoughts,

tongue tied in knots,

brain denied this

unquenchable knowledge.

Dreams keep me salivating,

awaken empty-minded,

reality just an appetizer – 

the dry uninspired salad.

Before me rests blank paper

with indescribable white noise

ringing aloud between the lines,

magnified inside my hollow head

like nails-on-chalkboard cries.

What brilliant sun offsets 

this colorless quagmire 

sinking slowly under?

Rhymes miss their mark

without a sticking point.

A life coined in the dark

inkwells of a trashed society

foretells the same garbage, 

unraveling as worn 

book-binding,

spine and spirit broken,

cover blown and words 

left unspoken.

View original post

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sticking point

  1. beverlydyer says:

    Tyler this is beautiful.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! So glad you enjoyed my poem 🙂 Writer’s block happens to the best of us….may as well take advantage and use it as a muse! Have a wonderful Sunday, Bev 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. Writers block!… written out! 🙂

    • Yes, indeed! It happens to all of us eventually 😉 May as well take advantage and use writer’s block as a muse! I hope you have a wonderful Sunday, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • I usually work weekends, but going camping for a week on Tuesday… can’t wait. Just have to figure out a way to keep my phone charged to take pictures! 🙂 have a great week Tyler

Leave a Reply

