The tomatoes are humming

The ancient eavesdropper

Out in the greenhouse,

inspecting the vines,

counting and sorting,

wasting my time.

One tomato this,

one tomato that,

protruding off in space,

landing in a case,

humid and sweaty

with the whir of the fan

pushing air out

instead of in.

Along with the whirring

came the blare of the radio

playing 80s tunes

long out of style.

I cannot remember

when that music was groovy,

unless you consider

the culture:

tube socks and roller derbies.

All of this excitement

made for a pretty dull day

of picking and weighing,

what I call a ripe old foray.

Until I heard another noise.

I must be hallucinating

or are the tomatoes

really humming 

to tunes that annoy me?

Over my shoulder

was the distant echo

of buzzing and droning,

I blinked, hesitated,

and recounted my tomatoes.

But in awhile,

I thought to myself,

at least the new noise

could…

View original post 120 more words

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

