Placeholders

The ancient eavesdropper

Placeholders_2

History preserved
under thick bark
and dried sap,
pinecone scrolls
smeared with
ancient pollen,
giant placeholders
for all seasons,
peerless 
points-of-view
at the top of
the planet, 
dizzying depth
seeded into
the landscape,
trees
complete
true stories,
their
forests
build 
familial
lifestyles
and nurture 
natural highs.

View original post

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Placeholders

  1. What an interesting take on history. I like your image of pinecone scroll, especially, Tyler. Your first few lines remind me of Amber I’ve examined with tiny drops of water, pollen grains, and little insects trapped inside. I love this poem about the antiquity and importance of trees., and how they make us feel. Hope you’re well, Tyler, and enjoying summer. How are folks in your community responding to the publicity (this month) of the Cascadia fault line, and its potential? Cheers! WG

    • Thank you kindly, Elizabeth! I’m so glad you enjoyed my poetree 🙂 Summer has been busy for my wife and I. We bought a house in Harrisburg and moved in early July. This weekend, we are finishing up cleaning our rental so we can get our security deposit back. It feels like my workweeks never end since we are either moving, unpacking or cleaning on the weekends. Unfortunately, I haven’t had time or brain cells to write new poetry. At the end of the day, I’m just worn out! This too shall pass I guess. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • Congratulations on your new home, Tyler! I know you both have worked towards this for a very long time! Harrisburg is such a pretty little town, too. My sister in law lives there along the river. Good luck with your move this weekend. I hope everything goes smoothly 😉

      • Thank you so much, Elizabeth! What a small world! Harrisburg is a quaint little town and about 20 minutes closer to my work in Mapleton. Heather and I moved all our stuff into the house and are gradually unpacking and getting situated. This week, our refrigerator died, so we had to go out and buy a WhirlPool stainless steel fridge yesterday. Fortunately, we didn’t have a lot of food in the fridge and could fit everything into coolers full of ice. We also saved $400 by shopping at Lowes. Today we are going up to Troutdale to watch the Barenaked Ladies, Colin Hay and the Violent Femmes concert at the Edgefield. It should be a fun time. Also, there’s a 60% chance of rain, but I can’t complain since it’s been so dry here and the plants and fish need the water. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
        Cheers,
        Tyler

Leave a Reply

