Weekly Photo Challenge: Wall

1-WPC_Wall

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Wall

  1. This is quite an interesting take on the weekly challenge πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo πŸ™‚ It’s a rough-skinned newt, a type of salamander, and adults are currently breeding in rivers and streams right now. When threatened, they will expose their bright orange underbelly as a warning sign to potential predators. Newts’ skin contains a lethal neurotoxin that makes predators think twice about eating them! Nature is so very fascinating to me πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful day, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • I wonder if also an alert warning of danger to the rest of their pals.

      • If we start watching the natural world around us… we would be amazed by the drama being played out by each member of this grand play, right?

        I too share a keen interest in nature and liked to capture it’s beauty and share it with all the wonderful people out here πŸ™‚

        Have a beautiful day ahead, Tyler πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! I am guessing here…..a salamander peeking through a glass tile wall?

    • Yes, it’s an adult rough-skinned newt, which is a type of salamander! From March to April, they migrate to rivers, streams and lakes to breed and lay their eggs. As part of my work, I help check a smolt trap on Knowles Creek and we identify and record all the aquatic life we find. We use a clear plastic jug to view the critters and then dump them back into the stream so they can go about their merry way! Unintentionally, this photo could also double for last week’s orange Photo Challenge πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo πŸ™‚ It’s a rough-skinned newt, a type of salamander, and adults are currently breeding in rivers and streams right now. As part of my work, I help check a smolt trap on Knowles Creek and we identify and record all the aquatic life we find. We use a clear plastic jug to view the critters and then dump them back into the stream so they can go about their merry way! Nature is so very fascinating to me πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • It looks like he (or she) is protesting being caught but somehow it also looks like he is in Times Square, maybe doing some disco moves πŸ™‚ A good weekend to you too!

  3. Wonderful, Tyler. Is that a let me out or let me in type of wall? πŸ™‚ –Curt

  4. seeker says:

    I’ve never seen a Newt in my entire life, now it’s walled in. Is this alive?

    • Oh yes, it’s very much full of life, a veritable bundle of amphibian energy! We place all the critters we find from the smolt trap in these clear jugs so we can identify them. They’re only captives for 1-2 minutes and then we release them back into the stream. When I took this photo, I was wondering how the newt felt with its world shrunk to the smaller dimensions of a synthetic room with plastic walls. It made me feel sad, but I knew it would soon be free once again. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  5. Amazing photo and would not have guessed except for the colour that it is a type of Salamander.

  6. Amy says:

    I’ve never seen it before, wow! Very fascinating.

    • Thank you kindly, Amy! I had two pet salamanders growing up and even created two comic book characters named “The Frog” & “The Salamander Sidekick.” I also had a three-toed box turtle that ran away (no joke!). My life has been enriched by a plethora of cold-blooded creatures. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  7. loisajay says:

    My immediate thought was ‘Teenage Ninja Mutant Turtles.’ I love it!

    • Haha! My birthday was yesterday and I wore my TMNT shirt at my pizza party! My wife showed me a shirt that said “We’re actually in our Thirties” with the same TMNT lettering. I’ve always wondered how they’ve been teenagers for so long. Kids at heart, I guess πŸ™‚ I’ve been a TMNT fan since I was just out of the womb, so I’m glad that was your initial thought. I hope you had a wonderful weekend and best wishes on the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  8. Haha this is great, Tyler! Looks like a little Warrior from another dimension!

    • Haha! I love the thought of a Warrior Newt πŸ™‚ When I was a teenager, I created two amphibian super heros named “The Frog” and “The Salamander Sidekick.” One of their enemies was Rocky the Newt, a rough and tough, cold-blooded thug πŸ™‚ I’d like to think the newt in the photo is more good natured πŸ™‚ I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend, and best wishes on the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  9. Tina Schell says:

    How totally cool! Love this one Tyler!

    • Thank you kindly, Tina! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo of this beautiful cold-blooded creature. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m so glad my blog inspires you πŸ™‚ I am humbled by your high praise and greatly appreciate your support! Keep inspiring the world with your blog! I hope you are having a wonderful weekend and best wishes in the week ahead πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you kindly,Shira! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo of this beautiful cold-blooded creature! Nature is very near and dear to my heart and I’m happy to share my corner of Oregon with you πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend and best wishes in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  10. Jewels says:

    This is great! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo of this cute cold-blooded creature πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend and best wishes in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  11. That is one weird Newt! Like a fairy tale creature. Somehow, he’s rounded but flat, orange yet sad and upright yet four-footed. A study in contrasts.

  12. f-stop mama says:

    Very creative post for WPC: Wall. Love it!

  13. rxfrazier says:

    Sorry. Slow to resond. Very unique and cool take on the theme Wall. Great metaphor for walls and barriers.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo 😊 Humans impose boundaries in a boundless natural world. As photographers, we establish boundaries when looking through the lens, framing a corner of Nature, capturing a microcosm of life for a brief moment. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  14. Love this – how amazing. You have a new fan… πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, Laura! Glad you enjoyed my photo of a rough-skinned newt πŸ˜ƒ Nature is my muse and wellspring of inspiration. I appreciate the follow & hope you have a wonderful Sunday!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

