Quietly moving

A silkscreen of mist
woven over the trees
whispering softly.

Encased in silence
the tiny seed stirs
yawning cotyledons.

Worms tunnel
beneath my feet —
their powerful bodies
quiver & shake —
quietly moving
mountains.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Quietly moving

  1. Trini Lind says:

    Oh, this is so so so gorgeous!!! ❀

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Beautiful! I love this!

  3. dbp49 says:

    Reminds me of the last time I was out hiking. πŸ™‚

    • Wonderful, my friend! There is nothing quite like hiking a rugged trail, feeling the uneven earth beneath your feet, breathing the aroma of pine needles and musty leaves, and hearing birdsong flitter from tree to tree. Hope you had a pleasant weekend and best wishes in the week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  4. Beautiful imagery, liked your poem immensely.

  5. susanissima says:

    Delightful! Love thinking about “worms tunnel[ing] beneath my feet.”

  6. Love that! Makes me smile. πŸ™‚

  7. jules says:

    Evocative. Great poem.

  8. Dalo 2013 says:

    Great poem and writing

  9. Dalo 2013 says:

    This poem takes me to a feeling of spring ~ actually makes me exciting to be out into the Olympic mountains where I can envision quite clearly your line of “quietly moving mountains.”

    • Thank you for your thought-provoking comment! I’m so glad you connected to my poem in this way. I did intend for it to be about springtime. The Olympic Mountains are an idyllic place to be right now. I wish you many happy trails πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  10. curtisbausse says:

    Love the image of the worms moving mountains. Also discovered what a cotyledon is! Thanks for the great poem.

    • You are most welcome, Curtis, it’s my pleasure! And thank you for your kind words πŸ™‚ Not only is cotyledon a fun word to use in a poem, but it’s educational! Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  11. hugr5 says:

    You gave me a new perspective on worms. πŸ™‚

    That’s no small feat!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! As a poet, I am constantly thinking of new ways to describe the world and redefine people’s perception of inspiration. I enjoy following your blog. Keep inspiring the world with your words πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  12. Jen E Town says:

    What a wonderful and deep message. The smallest creatures are the constant force that keeps the cycles of life in movement. Tiny worms moving mountains! unseen by most of us. I love your poem

Leave a Reply

