Backbone of the sky

backbone-of-the-sky

A flock of geese
arch like a backbone
across the December sky.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Backbone of the sky

  1. susanissima says:

    Wow! Amazing shot, Tyler!

    • Thank you kindly, Susan! I’ve never seen such a multitude of geese…they looked like a swarm of starlings from afar…their thunderous wing beats and honks echoing for miles. It was truly an inspiring, sublime experience! Best wishes to you and yours in the coming New Year πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you for the kind word and follow! I’m so glad you enjoyed my photo and poem. I’ve never seen such a multitude of geese…they were flying like a swarm of starlings! Best wishes to you and yours in this coming New Year πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  2. words4jp says:

    The area i live in seems to be a crossroads for geese. I have seen the largest flocks – and a multitude of flocks. Big flocks. It is so cool and loud but i love it.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I completely agree. I just happened to be driving around Corvallis, Oregon and saw this beautiful flock of geese in the park. They were swarming like Starlings….I couldn’t believe my eyes…such an inspirational moment. I was also able to take video footage so I could capture the thunderous sounds of wingbeats and honks. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, Kim!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. Geo Sans says:

    kinetic
    ~
    sculpture

  4. Jet Eliot says:

    Exquisite photo. πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking one of my posts. Blessings, Natalie πŸ™‚

    • You are most welcome, Natalie! It’s my pleasure πŸ˜ƒ Thank you for stopping my my blog and liking my post! Happy New Year & best wishes to you and your in 2015!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  6. aussiebirder says:

    Tyler do you know what kind of geese they are?

  7. beverlydyer says:

    This is indeed inspiring, both the image and the words! Hey, where have you been?

  8. Mazigrace says:

    Awesome! Brings back memories of seeing flocks like this on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Inspiring image and words!!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m so glad you enjoyed my post. What beautiful memories…Nature is our universal connection…a wellspring of life inspiring us all around the world πŸ˜€ I wish you all the best in 2015!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  9. Heartafire says:

    stunning haiku and image…beautiful!

  10. rjreitinger says:

    Thanks for visiting my post. The backbone photo is a real “shot.” In my own photography I sometimes get luck and get a shot that stands the test of time, like this one, just not very often. I’m still trying. Thank you so much for sharing this. I’m a nature fan too.

    • You are most welcome…it’s my pleasure! Thank you for visiting and leaving such a thoughtful comment! I always enjoy meeting kindred spirits who share my love of nature. I just happened to be driving around Corvallis, Oregon and saw this beautiful flock of geese in the park. They were swarming like Starlings….I couldn’t believe my eyes…such an inspirational moment. I was also able to take video footage so I could capture the thunderous sounds of wingbeats and honks. As photographers, it’s all about being in the right place, at the right time. It takes patience and a lot of luck! I wish you all the best in your artistic endeavors. Keep inspiring the world with your photographs πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  11. What a capture … way to go. What a flock. I love the soind of Canada Geese.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! It was quite a sight to behold. What a thunderous wave of wingbeats and honks…truly an inspiring moment. The flock moved like one giant organism, akin to a swarm of Starlings. Nature never disappoints. I live in awe everyday. Have a wonderful week ahead!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  12. dbp49 says:

    A beautiful shot. Absolutely wonderful.

  13. Cleverly titled. Great timing on this moment. Nice shot.

  14. Dalo 2013 says:

    Beautiful shot ~ lighting and timing make this such a great capture!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I just happened to be driving around Corvallis, Oregon and saw this beautiful flock of geese in the park. They were swarming like Starlings….I couldn’t believe my eyes…such an inspirational moment. I was also able to take video footage so I could capture the thunderous sounds of wingbeats and honks. As a photographer, it’s all about being in the right place, at the right time. It also takes patience and a lot of luck!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

      • Dalo 2013 says:

        Geese in the Pacific Northwest are amazing…I love hearing their call, and they always surprise me as they are simply beautiful. I have yet to really capture any geese with my camera… I just realized that and am stunned by that thought ~ got my next project next fall/winter πŸ™‚ Cheers!

      • Yes, my friend, geese are truly transcendent creatures! Whenever I heard them honking above, I completely stop what I’m doing, tilt my head back and smile at the ‘V’ formation flying across the sky. And if I have a camera on me, I quickly snap a few pictures! I wish you all the best with your forthcoming project. Honestly, you could have a whole gallery filled with portraits of geese. You could even have a tape recording of their honks playing in the background to enhance the experience. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚
        Cheers,
        Tyler

  15. Melody J Haislip says:

    Simply perfect!

  16. dearmiracle says:

    You captured it perfectly!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Photography is all about being at the right place, at the right time. I was really fortunate to capture this flock of geese at this exact moment. What an inspiring sight to behold! Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Hope you are doing well! I always enjoy following your blog. You are so very talented and I love your artistic posts. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!
      Chers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  17. Thanks for your, like, on Baiting the Hooks.

  18. marioca says:

    Very good shot! Not often you get a flock of geese behaving this way as they mostly fly in a V formation.

  19. were you playing: “eye spine”…(with my little eye…oh LOL!) Super pairing–very sparing and just perfect.

  20. Thanks for the, Like, on our Purle Crocus.

  21. hmsberlin says:

    Great shot and text!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my photo and poem πŸ™‚ Nature is my muse and wellspring of inspiration! I hope you have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  22. I love the concept expressed in this stunning photo and the accompanying haiku. It’s a long time since I’ve seen a sky that colour – for weeks now the Welsh sky has been obscured by a series of delinquent storms!

  23. jenimcmillan says:

    Artforms in nature! Love your work, Tyler πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! So glad you enjoy my blog πŸ™‚ It’s my pleasure to share with you Nature’s nuances. This flock of geese put on exhibit the most beautiful ephemeral art. I was fortunate enough to capture it on camera! Have a wonderful Sunday, Jeni πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

