Wherever the wind takes me

After 14 months of job applications, interviews and patient waiting, I’ve just accepted a permanent position with the Siuslaw Watershed Council as their Integrated Watershed Projects Manager. I’m really looking forward to working by the scenic Oregon Coast again and I can’t wait to get started. Thank you to all of my WordPress friends for being so kind and supportive throughout my job search. I started this blog as a way to keep my mind occupied while unemployed and it blossomed into something beautiful beyond belief. I plan to keep blogging as my schedule allows, so keep an eye out for more creative debris falling from my poetree, carried by the breeze to land on your computer screen!

The ancient eavesdropper

IMG_7632

Calmness
has crept over
my spirit as if
I were a leaf ready
for wherever the
wind takes me —
my fate hanging
on its every breath.

View original post

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Wherever the wind takes me

  1. susanissima says:

    Break a leg, Tyler! All the best in your new position.

    • Thank you, Susan! I greatly appreciate your kindness and support, my friend! There is no better cause than restoring and preserving the environment for future generations. I will work hard at my job and make a difference in the Siuslaw Watershed, just as I did in the Coos Watershed. Life has led me down a new,yet familiar path and I am relishing the journey thus far 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  2. JessicaJots says:

    Congrats, Tyler! So happy for you and wishing you all the best. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, Jessica! I finally found a job that’s a perfect fit! All of those times I came so close to be hired, they have faded into the background, and I honestly believe everything happened for a reason, to help me arrive at where I stand now. My first day is June 2nd and it should be a very busy summer filled with worthwhile work. I can’t wait to resume my career…it brings me so much joy 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  3. Robin says:

    Congratulations on your new job and the transition back to work!

    • Thank you so much, Robin! I greatly appreciate your kindness and support, my friend 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  4. Congratulations, Tyler! May you be very happy and fulfilled in your new job!

    • Thank you very much, my friend! I truly appreciate your kindness and support 🙂 I finally found a job that’s a perfect fit! It’s going to be a busy year filled with worthwhile work. No matter what I do or where I go, I’ll always be a champion for Nature. Hope you’re having a wonderful, relaxing weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  5. Good luck Tyler! & congratulations. 😀

    • Thank you kindly, Amanda! I truly appreciate your support 🙂 It’s going to be a busy year filled with worthwhile work. I’m so glad I can focus my energy on a job, rather than looking for a job. After all the applications and interviews, I will never take employment for granted again. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  6. Congratulations and best of luck!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  7. loisajay says:

    Congratulations to you! Sounds like the absolute perfect fit. Good things come to those who wait.

    • So true…yes, I can honestly say now that good things come to those who wait 🙂 Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  8. Maril says:

    Sounds like a wonderful opportunity, congratulations!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, Maril!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  9. Joyce says:

    Congratulations and good luck!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, Joyce!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  10. Congratulations Tyler!!!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, Cate! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  11. Congratulations, Tyler! I’m so happy you’ve found a good position in an area which interests you. I will miss your frequent posts and comments, but am so happy for you that your long wait is concluded, and you have the position for which you’ve been hoping to find. Best wishes- WG

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months of applying and interviewing for jobs, then waiting to hear back, but finally I found a good fit! The job market in my field of ecology is extremely competitive, and in many cases, values education over experience. The Master’s degree is the new Bachelor’s degree and the Bachelor’s degree is now akin to a High School Diploma (pretty much worthless). Employers can be picky because the market is flooded with highly qualified candidates. It’s not uncommon to see 100-150 people apply for part-time or seasonal jobs and 150-200 people apply for permanent jobs. I think I applied for 150 to 200 jobs and had 20 interviews over 14 months. Corvallis is a college town, so there are a lot of educated and experienced professionals, including traveling spouses who are looking for work just like me. It’s ironic that I ended up finding a job in the same region I left…the Oregon Coast! Mapleton is halfway between Coos Bay and Corvallis, so I’ll have to commute about 130 miles or 3 hours a day, but I don’t mind (the drive is beautiful). The Siuslaw Watershed Council even has a project focused on restoring basking and nesting habitat for the Western Pond Turtle – how awesome is that! I’m just glad that I can continue my career and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, Elizabeth!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  12. carolahand says:

    I can’t wait to see your photos from the “scenic Oregon Coast, Tyler! Best wishes to you with your new job.

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  13. Congratulations, Tyler!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness and support, Karen! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  14. I had to check out what integrated watershed management was, and now I see this is a great job for you! Best of luck, and do find time to keep blogging. Your views on the environment – both words and photos – are very valued.

    • Haha! Yes, my new job title is quite a mouthful! Thank you so much for your kindness and support, my friend! It’s been a long 14 months and I’m relieved that my job search is over. This past year has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and I’m a stronger person for going through it. Now I can continue on my career path and use my gifts to help restore and preserve the environment for future generations. I plan to keep blogging on my days off (Friday, Saturday and Sunday), so be on the lookout for fresh leaf litter 😉 Hope you’re having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  15. Eily Nash says:

    Wishing you much joy and happiness in your new employment. How wonderful the Universe has delivered the perfect job into your hands. X

    • Thank you so much, Eily! I really appreciate your kind words and support, my friend 🙂 My job is going well. The first week was a whirlwind, but that’s to be expected. Unfortunately, I’ve caught my wife’s cold, so hopefully I can recover quickly since I don’t have any sick days to use yet. Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

