Rippling static

Out my
windowpane —
I see the
rippling static
of the rain —
its drops
electric
jolts on
pavement.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rippling static

  1. Peter Nena says:

    Reads like an Haiku. Terse. Concise. Pithy. Yet weighty. Deep.

    • Thank you kindly, Peter! Yes, I like the format of the Haiku, but I enjoy more freedom…17 syllables can be too restricting at times. Ever since I joined Twitter last July, I’ve been writing a lot of 120 character (or less) “micropoems.” As much as I resisted joining Twitter, it has actually strengthened my writing and made my poems more succinct. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  2. Rob McShane says:

    I really like the format you use for these shorter poems – and the meanings you convey. So emotive and evocative with so few words – brilliant!

    • Thank you kindly, Rob! I’m glad you enjoy my poems 🙂 I used to write much longer poems, but since I joined Twitter last July, I’ve been writing a lot of 120 character (or less) “micropoems.” As much as I hate to admit it, Twitter actually strengthened my writing and changed my style. In a technologically-driven society with a short attention span, “micropoetry” can thrive on this “less is more” mentality and gain popularity. I don’t think poetry will ever go mainstream, but this is as close as it will probably get on social media. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • Rob McShane says:

        Excellent Tyler! So interesting – I started writing more poetry, and indeed joined with NaPoWriMo this year, to be able to blog. Felt the “less is more” mentality is becoming so much more prevalent that prose (even short stories) are losing their strength and poetry would be ‘easier’ to more regularly post – Wanted to run a blog to showcase my prose and now find the poetry more fulfilling! 🙂 With your micropoetry style and the depth of expression and meaning you are able to achieve, I now find myself taking the next step! Much like your path – in principle! I am going to write more concisely and shorten my verse. I agree that poetry will probably never go mainstream and this style should become popular for the short attention span movement which is arising! Thanks mate! Hope you’re having a good weekend too (we have another long one here in SA!).
        Cheers,
        Rob

Leave a Reply

