Weekly Photo Challenge: On top

Treetops have always fascinated me.  What an incredible view these beautiful giants have of the entire landscape.  Imagine if you were a bird perched on the topmost branch of an ancient Sequoia or a squirrel holed up in the recesses of a gnarled oak, going about your daily routine aloft in the canopy.  Might you be so awe-struck by the sublime sunset that you drop your worm or acorn?  Or perhaps you’re a newborn baby bird who has yet to take flight and peer out over its nest on high, certainly in for a huge surprise.  As a child, you may have formed a close relationship with your climbing tree or tree house, retreating to its welcoming boughs when the world was getting you down.   Even the view from below is inspirational, offering us a fresh perspective on life and grounding our sense of place, our sense of belonging to something bigger than ourselves.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: On top

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] An excellent take on your weekly photo challenge!

    • Thank you, Renard! Glad you enjoyed my angle on this week’s photo challenge 🙂 I had fun combing through the canopy of my blog, looking for treetop shots. Hope you have a wonderful Easter weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  2. Elouise says:

    Gorgeous shots! Thanks so much for sharing them–along with your thoughts.

  3. Katie says:

    Wonderful images.

    • Thank you kindly, Katie! I’m glad you enjoyed my angle on this week’s “On top” challenge 🙂 Since my blog is dedicated to trees, I just couldn’t help myself! Hope you have a wonderful Easter weekend, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  4. ubecute says:

    These pictures are absolutely fascinating!

  5. great shots… I really like that the one with the building looks like it’s also in the shape of a leaf… nicely done!!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my angle on this week’s “On top” photo challenge. I had fun combing through the canopy of my blog, searching for past treetop shots. I used a fisheye lens to take that leaf photo. It was from my post titled “Cornerstone” which read:
      At the
      corner
      of life —
      a leaf
      with
      a view
      I hope you have a wonderful Easter weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • I hope you have a wonderful weekend too Tyler. I don’t celebrate easter anymore, but I do celebrate the Passover and Christ’s resurrection! Many blessings to you and yours!!!

    • Thank you kindly for the re-blog, my friend! I greatly appreciate it 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my take on this week’s “On top” photo challenge. Since my blog is dedicated to trees, I just couldn’t help myself 😉 I hope you have a wonderful Easter weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  6. Rene Yoshi says:

    Oh wow…. Breathtaking! I’m partial to sunbursts, but I love the others too.

    • Thank you, Rene! So glad you enjoyed my treetop photos 🙂 That photo with the sunburst was taken at the Ross Creek Cedars near Thompson Falls in NW Montana (where I’m from). It’s a magical place…you would almost think you were in the temperate rain forests of the Pacific Northwest. Here’s to seeing the forest for the seeds / the potential for progress lies within. Have a wonderful week and Happy Earth Day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  7. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    I realize this is an older Weekly Photo Challenge post, but I thought it was a fitting tribute to trees on this Arbor Day. Each time you breathe, remember to thank a tree! Happy Arbor Day!

  8. Immediately I began to see the top of the tree my brother and I used to climb. (Mom hated us going up that tree.) He always climbed right to the top and I waited for him only six or seven feet from my “latch on” branch. What was so awe-inspiring for me was how those limbs at the top swayed in the breeze that we couldn’t even feel. Yes, this was an excellent choice for Arbor Day.

    • Thank you kindly, Paula! Also, thank you for sharing your tree climbing memories. Trees have such a timeless beauty….they are the legacy we leave behind for future generations to admire and enjoy, Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  9. amoralegria says:

    When I opened this post and saw your photos, I said “Wow!” These are wonderful pictures of treetops. I also enjoyed your reflection on trees. I am a tree lover too!

    • Always a pleasure to meet a fellow arbor admirer 🙂 Thank you for your kind words. Trees inspire me with their timeless beauty. Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  10. Trini Lind says:

    I love these photos and I love what you said about them 🙂

  11. Jane says:

    These is a beautiful collection. I love it! Very appropriate. Your words are lovely too. 🙂

  12. Anyuta says:

    I´am speechless! It´s incredibly beautiful.

  13. A-is for Anima says:

    I love it ❤

Leave a Reply

