Running

My wife and I ran our first half marathon (13.1 miles) yesterday. I finished with a time of 1 hour and 36 minutes and placed 75th overall (out of 1,400 runners). I am very proud of my wife for training hard since January and finishing in 2 hours and 24 minutes. It was a gorgeous day filled with sun, friends and fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Today, I’m moving around like a zombie, my muscles locked in a state of rigor mortis. As a runner, I wouldn’t have it any other way…these are the moments you live for!

The ancient eavesdropper

My heart
& feet beat
down the street โ€”
legs & lungs
churn & burn โ€”
fists uppercut
the air โ€”
miles fly by
& I feel alive
running.

View original post

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running

  1. words4jp says:

    Congrats! Ya gotta love the DOMS!

    • Thank you kindly, Kim! It was a great first experience for my wife and I. I actually hurt my back a week before and didn’t think I was going to be able to run…but I put in so many miles of training that I felt compelled to run. I took a lot of ibuprofen and iced/heated my back beforehand and it seemed to do the trick. Still, I took my pace down a notch so I wouldn’t pull a muscle. Hope you are having a wonderful week, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! It was a great first half marathon…I’m hoping to run one more half before tackling the 26.2 mile monster ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you’re having a wonderful week…tomorrow’s Friday!
      Cheers,
      Tyler ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Tracy says:

        I have my eye on my first 5k in the fall. But it will be walking as were motivating friends to lose weight and get moving. Good luck with your goals!

  2. I know this exact feeling from when I used to go hiking and trekking in the mountains. You’re so spent by the end but oh my God, what a fulfilling, beautiful feeling it is! Every muscle and bone reminds you that you are alive. Congrats on this achievement! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

