Skyward eye

Skyward eye

The skyward eye —
its glassy gaze
from waterways —
as grass lashes wave
and pebbles frame
the face of life.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Skyward eye

  1. kalabalu says:

    What a nice picture poem:-)

  2. just a stunning, one-of-a-kind compilation. the Biped reflection(s) therein is super; I love the inner lashes–the cat’s eye quality…

    you should enter this in a competition–it’s reeeEEAAAlllly, REEEEEaaaaaaaaalllY good.

    I would write lash singular for beats…

    • Thank you, Karen! I’m glad you enjoyed it, my friend 🙂 I just happened to be at the right place, at the right time…so much of photography relies on chance (more like dumb luck!). I could have waxed poetic forever about this scene, but I didn’t want to take away from the reader’s experience, so I kept it short and simple. Using the singular would change the sentence to “grass lash waves”….I agree that it synchs with the beat of the poem, but lashes makes more sense given the abundance of grass blades. I was considering grass lids instead of lashes, but it didn’t fit the rhythm. I really appreciate the constructive critique…I wish my followers would offer their advise more often. I hope you’re having a wonderful day, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. mjonpdx says:

    Awesome very creative.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 Since you are also a photographer (and a talented one at that!), you know that capturing the moment is about patience, and oftentimes, being in the right place at the right time (e.g., dumb luck!). This was one of those moments. Also, the fish eye lens certainly helped to accentuate the glassy gaze of the creek bed. I’m now following your blog as well. Keep up the great work and have a wonderful week!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • mjonpdx says:

        Tyler
        Thank you for the kind comments. You are a brilliant photographer and that one line caught my eye, “being in the right place at the right time.” So many of my photos were caught that way. I don’t believe in taking a lot of time to set up just go with the flow. I think I saw you are in the Portland area, if you ever want to go on a picture taking hike through out the city let me know.
        Stay warm and have a good one.
        Malcolm

  4. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    By the stream bank, I peered into the water and found life staring back at me, its aqueous eye saturating my being…

  5. LOVE this photo. I see you’re having fun with fisheyes 😉

Leave a Reply

