Sequoia Squid

Sequoia Squid_2

Landlocked enigma
photosynthetic cephalopod
giant Sequoia squid
long tree branch tentacle
circling its next victim.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sequoia Squid

  1. Oh, love thus title for the very apt photo!!

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 This was one of those moments where everything just clicked. Even the circular frame of the fish eye lens makes the viewer feel as though they are peering through a porthole at the surreal scene. The tree branch ‘tentacles’ of the Sequoia were 8 to 10 inches in diameter & large enough to be a 20 year old tree! I’ve never seen a bough so long and thick…truly an amazing sight to behold. The ‘victim’ in the photo is my wife. Needless to say, she was not amused since she is used to having a harmonious relationship with (what Bob Ross called) “happy trees” 🙂 But I made her understand that it’s all harmless fun when it comes to my imagination. Have a great day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  2. Neato! I love trees, the more interesting the better. I shoot some interesting trees today but the pics really did not come out well.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I risked life and limb to snap this photo and fortunately escaped unscathed! My wife was not so lucky, as she was the ‘victim’ and casualty of my negligent curiosity 😉 At first, she was not amused with my interpretation of the scene, but eventually, she lightened up and we had a good laugh. Hope you have a great day & watch out for these not-so-gentle giants 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. Brenda says:

    Are you sure it’s not a land-Kraken?

    • Haha! Love that word ‘Kraken.’ Very whimsical and mysterious. I escaped with my life and snapped a photo to document my close encounter 😉 Unfortunately, my wife was the ‘victim’ caught in the crossfire of the photo shoot. Her naivety stemmed from watching too many episodes of Bob Ross painting “happy trees” and she didn’t realize the danger until it was too late. She wasn’t amused by my interpretation at first, but eventually she lightened up and we had a good laugh 😉 I hope you had a relaxing weekend, Brenda, and have a wonderful week!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • Brenda says:

        Tyler,

        I hope your wife will recover from her episode soon. 🙂 I had a productive weekend, getting a lot of projects done around the house, but it wasn’t very relaxing. I have better hopes for next weekend! Hope you have a great week!!

        Brenda

  4. John Hric says:

    what is it about certain trees and plants that we rename them ? they just set our imaginations loose !

    • I know what you mean, John. This tree had a field day with my imagination, as you can see 😉 Wouldn’t have it any other way. Helps balance out my hard science, left brain tendencies. Have a wonderful week, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you, Melanie! I’m glad you enjoyed it, my friend. It was quite a sight to behold. Fortunately, I escaped unscathed and snapped a photo to document my close encounter 😉 My wife is the ‘victim’ in the background, encircled by the long, tree branch ‘tentacle,’ unaware of the dangers lurking under the canopy. She watched too many episodes of Painting with Bob Ross and assumed that all forests have “happy trees.” Needless to say, she was not amused by my photogenic and poetic license, although I finally got her to smile and laugh 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful week, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  5. Pieter Navis says:

    Sounds like a pretty scary tree to me 🙂
    Nice one Tyler! 🙂

    • Thank you. Pieter! Glad you enjoyed it. Never assume that all trees in a forest are “happy trees” like the painter Bob Ross did 😉 There can be some not-so-gentle giants lurking in the woods, preying on you when you least expect it. Have a wonderful week, my friend, and keep up the excellent work on your blog!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  6. uribg says:

    Hi Tyler,
    wonderful picture, love the sequoias!
    Thanks for liking my post “Featured Plant: Jewel Orchid” on
    uribotanicalgardens.wordpress.com
    I have visited your blog before, through “the hour of soft light”? Very nice.
    Best,
    Gabrielle

    • You are most welcome, my friend, and thank you! Glad you enjoyed my post 🙂 Keep inspiring the world with your blog, Gabrielle, and have a wonderful week!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  7. MaldivesDreamer says:

    Love the pic!! Well done 🙂

  8. Should’ve been growing in Jules Verne’s yard!!

  9. Gewanda says:

    So glad I found this blog. I love nature and you have done a marvelous job at displaying it. YES!!! I WILL CHECK BACK FOR SURE. Awesome Blog!

    • Thank you, my friend! I appreciate your kind words and the follow 🙂 I look forward to following your blog as well, Gewanda. Have a wonderful day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  10. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    After our recent snow storm, I was saddened to learn that this Sequoia’s lower branches had been damaged. While I felt very fortunate to have taken this photo beforehand, this random incident made me reflect on how many fleeting moments go by unnoticed in my life. As much as I value awareness, it’s all a matter of being in the right place at the right time. So much is left to chance outside the realm of our consciousness…

  11. How true this is! I think of this when I’m hiking. We recently visited a place called the Daley Ranch in Escondido, CA. On our hike, we noticed a coyote peeking at us through the bush. As timid as they apparently are, his or her eyes did not leave us until we were well on her way. She actually came out and walked a few yards in our direction. I kept looking back out of curiosity, respecting her space. I believe we were just in the right place at the right time, like you say, Tyler. I had never seen a coyote up close and this moment I will treasure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

