Flood of silence

Flood of silence

In the winter months
we sit immersed by
a flood of silence —
dormant thoughts
germinating beneath
the surface.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Flood of silence

  1. sandraconner says:

    Oh I love this! And in my case I’m counting on that fact, especially this year, since I have to create three whole new chapters of a creative writing curriculum — and I’m trying my hand at writing a completely different kind of novel than I’ve ever written before. I literally take this poem as a confirmation that what I need is developing inside of me even as I write. COME ON GERMINATION!!! And thanks for the encouraging words.

    • You are most welcome, Sandra, & thank you for your kind words! I wish you all the best in your writing endeavors. May your pen flow like a river to its confluence with inspiration πŸ™‚ There is no limit to what you can do in this New Year!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. iosatel says:

    W o n d e r f u l !

  3. hazelzs says:

    This reminds me of a spot along the Presque Isle Stream in Maine. Lovely photo. Where was it taken?

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! It was taken in Corvallis, Oregon along the Willamette River. Isn’t it wonderful how two places on opposite sides of the US can share similar views…it truly is a small world πŸ™‚ Have a great rest of your Sunday!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  4. Montana is such a beautiful place, I have been there several years ago and it reminded me of Scotland. Beautiful poem and so many of us should follow its advise…

    • Thank you, my friend! I appreciate your kind words πŸ™‚ Yes, Montana is my home on the range in beautiful, Big Sky Country. However, I live in Oregon now, & this photo was taken in Corvallis along the Willamette River. Both States are equally beautiful in their own way πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  5. Patty B says:

    so glad you visited my page….I am enjoying your pictures and words. A good way to start off my day. Blessings!

  6. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    As part of my training for the half marathon, I went for a 4-mile run today along the Willamette River. With all the rainfall and snow melt this past week, water is starting to spill over its banks, flooding parking lots and sections of the trail. There is something liberating about splashing through puddles, hearing the refreshing pitter-patter of shoes on wet pavement. It’s as though the river flows and echoes in your veins, liquid life pulsing through oxygenated tributaries, draining into the catch basin of your heart. As legs and arms move in one fluid motion, the mind relaxes and surrenders itself to the moment…

  7. reynekeart says:

    Your words reach in… deep… to the core of my own silence.

  8. keylimehi says:

    Your work is amazing and I am always happy when you write something new. I tip my hat to you.

  9. A beautiful way to describe the delicate back and forth between storing up thoughts and releasing them in a creative manner.

Leave a Reply

