Alternate realities

Alternate realities

Trees
turned
upside
down
in the
flowing
mirror
of a
stream —
nothing
is as it
seems —
the realities
we see.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Alternate realities

  1. johncoyote says:

    Beautiful photo and amazing poetry. Life is how we look at it. Thank you for sharing the photo and poetry.

    • Thank you, John! I appreciate your kind & thoughtful comment πŸ™‚ I agree. Reality is what we make it & varies from person to person. This poem also reflects on the fact that we actually see life upside down, but our brain somehow turns images right-side up. I’ve always been fascinated by this…what a surreal world it would be with the sky below & earth above. But, who’s to say it isn’t just an alternate reality? I hope you have a wonderful day/night, my friend, & all the best in 2014!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  2. kiwiskan says:

    lovely reflections

  3. That’s absolutely true, nothings as it seems. Lovely photograph.

  4. Haven’t been on your blog (or mine) for a while. Always a pleasure to view your photos, just beautiful.

    • Thank you kindly, Taylor Ann! I hope you had a wonderful Holiday & New Year, my friend. I missed seeing your awesome artwork pop up on my reader πŸ™‚ Best wishes to you & yours in 2014 & keep inspiring the world with your beautiful blog!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  5. gabbartrip says:

    Nice! I always find reflections thought provoking. Your words reminded me of a particular line from the book “Zen and the Art of motorcycle maintenance”. The author says how “We take a handful of sand from the endless landscape of awareness around us and call that handful of sand the world”. That makes me wonder often – what if we perceived reality differently?

    • Thank you, my friend! I’m glad you mentioned this book b/c its themes resonate with this post. I read that book seven years ago while doing backcountry trail work in Montana. I really enjoyed the philosophical premise behind the book: “two minds (with different value systems in life) fighting for the same body.” Even though it was written in 1974, the story is timeless & transcends generations. Really makes you think about how perceptions of reality can change depending on who we are (or aren’t) day in and day out. I hope you had a wonderful day & thank you for sharing, my friend πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • gabbartrip says:

        I agree! πŸ™‚ I have been reading the book over the past few months – trying to understand and relate to what he is saying, and I really love the book. Have a great day ahead! Regards.

  6. Amy says:

    Well said about the upside down and reality.

  7. Great photo and great poem, very philosophical but also true.

  8. Great photo and great poem, very philosophical but also true.

  9. Rachel Urista says:

    Beautiful sentiment… You have a special way of observing nature and then sharing your gifts and natures gifts with us. Thank you!

    • Thank you kindly, Rachel! You are most welcome, my friend. It’s my pleasure πŸ™‚ Looks like your workshops are a smashing success. Keep up the great work…you are an inspiration. I still want to try and attend one. I’ve been busy volunteering on the weekends, but really want to make it a priority this Spring. What dates are left? Hope you’re having a wonderful week! Try to stay dry out there πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • Rachel Urista says:

        Hi! I find YOUR blog an inspiration! Your images are stunning and artistic partners to your words…sharing new perspectives of our beautiful home. It helps me stay connected with it, even in the busiest of times. Its great that you are volunteering!
        Thank you for the compliments on my workshops, be fun to have you there! I have 3 coming up (April 12, May 3, and June 7) and then will schedule out for July-Dec and will also be starting new larger scale painting workshops. Let’s stay in touch! We’ll have to meet up one day!
        Until then, happy creating! Thank you for your words! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

