Poetic Tetris

Poetic Tetris

A concrete poem of the mind games we play as poets & artists.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Poetic Tetris

  1. Amazingly clever and whimsical, I love this! And thank you for following rainbowspinnaker and curiositycafe.

    • Thank you, my friend! So glad you enjoyed my figurative and literal play on words πŸ™‚ This is the first time I used an Open Office spreadsheet to create a concrete poem. The columns and rows are adjustable and perfect for sculpting different shaped Tetris blocks. I had so much fun with this & plan to use this program again πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you, my friend! So glad you enjoyed my figurative and literal play on words πŸ™‚ This is the first time I used an Open Office spreadsheet to create a concrete poem. The columns and rows are adjustable and perfect for sculpting different shaped Tetris blocks. I had so much fun with this & plan to use this program again πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

    • Thank you, my friend! I’m so glad you enjoyed my play on words πŸ™‚ I certainly had a fun time creating this shape poem in an Open Office spreadsheet. Never used this program to construct a concrete poem before, but it got my wheels turning and I plan to use it again in the future. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. Happy Holidays & I wish you all the best in 2014!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  2. gabbartrip says:

    Fantastic! Your concrete poetry, sir, is an inspiration!! Regards.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I actually made this concrete poem in an Open Office version of Microsoft Excel! I wanted to get the block-like shapes of the Tetris game, so this program provided the perfect medium with its rows and columns. I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚ I certainly had fun creating it! Have a wonderful day & Happy Holidays…I wish you all the best in 2014!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Thomas! I had fun playing around with my Open Office spreadsheet. The adjustable columns and rows are perfect for re-creating Tetris shapes. Mind games & word play…can’t get much better πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays & I wish you all the best in 2014, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. Bastet says:

    Loved this…very original and fun!

    • Thank you, my friend! I always try to keep it interesting…for me, poetry is a plastic beast, mercurial to the core & more importantly, it’s fun! I hope you have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  4. Carluh Vicknair says:

    Reblogged this on lucidfloetry and commented:
    Perfect example of the Writer’s thought process. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Joyful and inspirational.

  6. whoa – that’s clever

  7. Silverleaf says:

    Very cool and love the poem itself, too! My son is addicted to Tetris – I should show him this. A MUCH better use of time and brain power.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Never played video games very much as a kid, but I can see how addicting they can become. Kind of like how addictive poetry is for me…I guess it’s a healthy habit up to a point πŸ˜‰ Have a wonderful day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

