Off white

Off white

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Off white

  1. I’ve always been offended by graffiti

    • I would tend to agree with you, Paul. I do respect an artist’s right of free expression, however misplaced it might be. At the same time, I don’t condone the defacement of private or public property, although I think it’s very ironic when non-natural structures like this bridge are doubly crossed by the hands of man. When you think about it, humankind has been altering the face of the natural world for centuries out of a necessity to explore, expand and integrate their ways of life. Graffiti is a byproduct of the culture, a need to imprint our signature style, tell a story and be remembered – not unlike the prehistoric cave painters. But, we should learn to use restraint and respect the intrinsic beauty outside ourselves. Not everything on this planet is a canvas at our disposal. Hopefully this makes sense. Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  2. M. R. says:

    It would have been an image frozen in beauty …

  3. I actually love the graffiti in this! Great juxta πŸ˜€ does that one say “Fields without Fens”?

    • Thank you, Alanna! I am an artist at heart and respect a person’s right to freely express themselves. When graffiti paint defaces Nature (e.g., a tree or boulder), I am not so keen on the placement of the artist’s vision; however, when humans deface their own architectural structures, I have to laugh at the irony of like replacing like. The juxtaposition of color in a colorless Winter wonderland is a beautiful contrast that sticks as snow (or spray paint) on the mind’s eye. Haha! What would a field be without wetlands (i.e., fens)? Actually, it says, “Fields without fences,” which is a sentiment i wholeheartedly agree with πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful weekend…I look forward to following your blog as well!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  4. Intriguing thoughts about how man is, in a way, defacing nature with these structures and then the structures themselves become defaced. Very thought-provoking! I like the pops of color against the snow as much as I do not like graffiti. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you, my friend! I aim to inspire thoughtful dialogue and stir the alphabet soup boiling on the back burner of the brain πŸ˜‰ I hope you had a wonderful weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  5. gabbartrip says:

    Agreed to how ironic it is – in the name of progress and development, we leave little unturned..and then we deface those things as well. Thought provoking indeed. Regards.

Leave a Reply

