Wish I were a windowpane

Wish I were a windowpane

How many times
have you looked
out the window
and wanted to be
that pane of glass?
To see the wonder
of the world as the
days and seasons progress,
your vision altered
by the elements
of spring dew, summer heat,
fall fog and winter freeze.
Breathed on and touched,
backwards letters spelled out,
words understood
from the outside,
but not from your side
of undecipherable dyslexia.
Unlatched, opened up,
a steady stream of air
gently flowing in,
cleaning cobwebs
which tie tangled tightropes
across your frame.
Curtains flutter like
eyelashes, sweeping dust
from the sill as
stormy clouds
begin to billow.
Closed, locked tight,
rains pelt you
through the night
and when dawn arrives
you’ll see the first shards
of light before the birds
warm their vocal chords
and a crisp breeze
gives the breath of life.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wish I were a windowpane

  1. colonialist says:

    A most attractive whimsy.

  2. Gallivanta says:

    It could be a good life. Though it wouldn’t be so pleasant when birds knocked themselves out on you, as one little thrush did against my window pane the other day.

  3. Umpteen times. Beautiful poem.

  4. What a sill-y poem…;)

    I love it! An anthropomorphized window. Just wonderful. πŸ™‚

  5. A brilliant and perfect poem to be read out loud. And I wonder maybe about a window to our home between lives to watch not only in dreams.

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I agree. I’m actually planning on reading this poem at the next Poetics Corvallis open mic night. I’ve only done 3 or 4 poetry readings, so I’m breaking myself in slowly on the road to becoming a more well-rounded poet πŸ™‚ I hope you’re having a lovely day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  6. marcus says:

    Made to feel all seasons and more. You captured the essence brilliantly. Cheers.

  7. Beautiful. Makes me wish I was a window pane now!

  8. kiwiskan says:

    I’ll never look out a window in quite the same way again…

  9. You are very imaginative. This poem is kind of odd in a way, but refreshing and fun, and easy. I love it. It fits me well.

Leave a Reply

