And the breeze listened

This is one of the first poems I ever wrote. It’s dedicated to all the teachers, friends & family who inspired me to grow into the person I am today. Without your encouragement, I would be a seedling deprived of sun, soil & water, unable to reach its full potential. Thank you for sharing your light in my life!  Your kindness has shown me that there are no wasted breaths when you care about the wellbeing of others.   

The ancient eavesdropper

I walk alone
on one forgotten path,
trodden and worn,
covered in moss and
the vacant husks of seeds,
eaten by a passing squirrel,
carried through the breeze.

Where do such seeds go?
Are they lost or hard to follow,
maybe caught in mid-air
wondering where to travel?

Oh, I think we have
something in common –
filled with a void,
packing light
like pollen on vacation
day and night.
No sleep
nor company,
drifters in a forest
of plenty with hardly any
solace in sight.

As I continued down the trail,
I stumbled upon the squirrel
who had selfishly hidden
a cache of seeds in its burrow.
Chattering away,
tail twirling,
cheeks busied
by rhythmic
chewing,
the grinding
of muscles,
digestion ensuing.

I could not help but laugh
at my mistake,
for our furry friend
had not gone solo
storing seeds,
and to my surprise,
hopes and dreams.
Graciously…

View original post 162 more words

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

