Zeppelin-sized zucchinis

The ancient eavesdropper

Zeppelin-sized zucchinis

Out for a walk
in the garden this week
thinking I’d picked the last
of the summer veggies,
when I stumbled upon
two botanical whales
beached atop jute fabric,
I knew I was wrong –
my mind reeling like
Captain Ahab at the bow.
How could I miss these
two-foot giants
as long as the
five blind earthworms
that found them first?
On second thought,
what a blissful miss
at my own hands,
its flesh still intact
ripe for the taking.
And so, two
zeppelin-sized
zucchinis crashed
on my kitchen counter,
their green girth
gobbling up space –
entire worlds
grown under my nose,
picked by a mere mortal.
Already, I can just 
imagine the sweet smell
of dozens of loaves   
baking in the oven,
this autumn harvest
my ambrosia.
It’s amazing how
plant life can be
powerfully
self-sufficient given
the simplest ingredients
of sun, soil & water.
H.G…

View original post 31 more words

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

