Three’s company

A spider
weaves its
safety net
to capture
unsuspecting
insects,
but now
a fallen leaf
has stuck,
taking all
eight legs
to kick it off.

A black
beetle
out for
a morning
stroll on
my window sill —
I wonder what
part of my
house it
calls home.

A fruit fly
keeps
landing
on my
keypad —
how fearless
it is in the
shadow
of my
falling
fingers.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Three’s company

  1. simonhlilly says:

    Yep, very nice? Issa would love!

  2. I do not like spiders. In fact I am afraid of them!

  3. sandraconner says:

    Delightful! The third stanza is my favorite

    • Thank you, my friend! So much exists beyond our eye level. Sometimes, I just have to pause and acknowledge my non-human roommates and neighbors. Their lives are no more or less important than mine – we are all meant to co-exist and respect our otherness. I hope you have a wonderful week ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  4. susanissima says:

    Awesome capturing of life around us right now.

    • Thank you, Susan! With Spring comes the awakening of life, as seasonal change heightens our sense of place, small wonders all around if we stop to notice them. I hope you’re having a great week, my friend ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  5. Dominic says:

    Fantastic ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Dominic! Glad you enjoyed my poem ๐Ÿ™‚ Nature constantly inspires my mind’s eye, providing a wellspring of beauty and wisdom for me to draw upon. Hope you’re having a wonderful week, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

