Photosynthetic proboscis

Photosynthetic proboscis

Even trees have a sense of smell,
their nasal burls set to the ground.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Photosynthetic proboscis

  1. Love this image! What a great find….😊

  2. howanxious says:

    Oh! This is lovely. It is so good to see your post after quite a bit.
    I hope you are doing well. 🙂

  3. John Hric says:

    Maybe this is what the Easter Island trees looked like before they all went extinct.

  4. Awesome! And it’s almost as huge as mine! 😉

    • Thank you, Paul! It certainly was a sight to behold. Imagine the amount of sap that pores out of that nose when the tree is under the weather! I wonder if a tree snores in the woods? I’ll bet the squirrels get a bit restless with their noisy neighbors 😉 Nature humors me more than it should sometimes…hope you’re having a relaxing weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  5. dflorack says:

    What a great picture!

    • Thank you, my friend! My dad also took a photo of me picking the tree’s nose with my finger. Sometimes it’s hard to resist laughter in the quietude of Nature! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  6. Ha! That’s funny. If that’s the nose then it sure had a tall forehead!

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    Wonderful find and photo!

    • Thank you, Cee! My jaw dropped and I started laughing when I saw this Karl Malden, potato nose affixed to a tree! It certainly made my day 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful, relaxing weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  8. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    I couldn’t help but re-blog this image for the Weekly Photo Challenge. A cedar tree literally stands personified — quite unexpected to see a nose the size of Karl Malden affixed to its trunk — Nature a joker in disguise, blowing my mind’s eye…

  9. creative soul says:

    So enjoy reading and seeing many of your pictures over morning coffee; always a pleasure Tyler.

    • Thank you so much, my friend! I want nothing more than to share my passion for Nature, poetry & photography with the world & be inspired by creative spirits like you 🙂 Have a wonderful rest of your weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  10. haha thats great! All it needs is a pair of eyes…but you provided those in seeing the magic here LOL 🙂

  11. For two years now I’ve been meaning to take a photo of a White Birch I refer to as the “Moose Tree” located on a historical Arts & Crafts site where I do some educational programming. Your post will help spur me on to actually get that shot!

    • That’s wonderful, my friend! I’m so glad my photo inspired you to take a photo of your “Moose Tree” I also have another tree (an ancient Douglas Fir) that I have named the “Elephant Man” tree b/c of its giant, odd-shaped burls. Nature imitating life, how ironic! I hope you have a wonderful weekend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

