MAZE

MAZE

A roundabout shape poem that turns frowns upside down

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to MAZE

  1. Yes your mind does this, turning
    frowns upside down. Thank-you so much, always moving ‘electrons’ in my brain. I examined it for awhile working the words, then I just looked at it and this is what I saw:

    The maze is in your mind, taking a trek in a dream down a mountain climb, around bends and ravines, a lookout cliff with a kiss, and then one last repel to the field below.
    I see wandering, restlessness, footsteps, anonymous.. then foolhardy (like regret or a sense of what did I miss).. but it was still an adventure and always a love for nature!

    Thank-you.. I had fun with it. Your extremely creative Tyler 🙂 Goodnight
    Your friend, Tara

    • Thank you, Tara, for your kind words and thoughtful comment! Your reading of my poem is quite refreshing. This poem was ultimately an mental experiment, leading the reader (and its creator) through the thought process into and out of the chaos and confusion of our collective, creative pathos. Ironically, the maze in all its clutter, is easily navigable, since numerous arrows point to the smiley-face exit at the right. However, in order to read and solve the poem, your eyes need to go through the motions. The “really? K.I.S.S.” is referring to the fact that, even after transversing the text, the solution is so obvious! Keep It Simple Stupid is the moral to the shape poem. As much as we want to think outside of the box, sometimes we just need to use common sense. Our hindsight could certainly save us time in the real world, taking the shortest straight line instead of the curvilinear, roundabout path! Hope you are having a wonderful day, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • Thank-you Tyler for the response and detailed explanation! I knew K.I.S.S was an abbreviation for something.. I think I like my meaning more..lol 🙂
        Guess I was out of the box, maybe up in the clouds. Very fun.
        Tara 🙂

      • You are welcome, Tara! It’s hard to discount anybody’s interpretation, since the whole point of poetry is to evoke an infinite range of pathos. Keep your head in the clouds, Tara, because you can push the ceiling of consciousness to new heights. Hope you have a wonderful day, my friend!
        Cheers,
        Tyler 🙂

    • Thank you! I had to think out of the box on this one. It’s different than the rest of my ‘solid’ concrete poems, more porous and free-form in concept, but just as intimate and personal in its message. Hope you are having a good day, my friend! I’m really enjoying your sketchbook drawings, poetry and photographs. Keep up the inspired work on your blog 🙂
      Cheers.
      Tyler

    • Thank you! Glad you enjoyed my poetic experiment. Sometimes I need to mix up the concrete poetry to see how far I can spread creative concepts and set funny shapes in people’s heads.

      Keep up the inspired poetry on your blog. I look forward to following you as well. Hope you are having a good day 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  2. Different! I bet that took a while to plan!

    • Thank you! Like all my concrete poems, I rough them out on the computer screen and make changes as I go along. In this case, I wrote the poem normally in lines and then moved the words around. Ironically, my re-arranging thought process mimicked the movements of the maze I was trying to create! Hope you are having a good day, my friend and keep up the inspired work on your blog!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    Words ramble their way through my brain, lost in a maze of dead ends
    & epiphanies, guess & spellcheck my path, mapping mysteries ahead.

  4. I really like how backtrack–does. Clever, clever, clever. Brain candy.

Leave a Reply

