A cat’s callings

Prizm yawning

         She 
purrs, preens,
paws, plays,
prowls, preys,
perches, pounces,
pilfers, pacifies,
pisses, personifies,
so many
cat callings
to purchase
in nine lives.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A cat’s callings

  1. theres something furry about this tale i like this one reminds me of mine

  2. KG Visions says:

    thank you for liking my “welcome” page which I just added to! Lovely cat!

  3. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Quite lovely!

  4. pesters and pussyfoots, too

    • Thank you, Paul! I knew I was forgetting some other appropriate P-words. Hard to keep all the cat callings in my head! Hope you are having a good day, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  5. Lovely alliteration here…I like doing that too, in my titles that is! I’ve enjoyed your poetry and photographs. Thanks for visiting my blog and leading me back here!

    • Thank you, Karen! Your kind words are much appreciated. We seem to be kindred spirits who appreciate Nature and art. Keep up the inspired work on your blog, my friend! Hope you have a wonderful day 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  6. Gallivanta says:

    She pilfers!!! What does she pilfer? My sister’s cat came home the other day with a cupcake!

  7. How about “punches”? Sometimes I’ll hear a whack whack sound and find that two of my cats are “boxing” each other. Actually, they’re slapping and punching at each other with their front paws – ears back, malevolent eyes and growling voices as well! In the end, it’s all in good fun, no harm done.

    • Very good! Punches works as well! And some people even call their cat “Punches” to mix it up even more 😉 My cats play fight all the time, although there are moments it can get out of control and I need to break them up!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  8. Chris Kapot says:

    Thank you for this. I would have really struggled to resist adverbs (proudly, persistently etc. etc.) but they would have lessened the poem! I love alliteration and I love cats. I especially like how the title reminds us that these are not the characteristics of a cat, but it’s callings; it was placed on this earth to preen, play and play; this is its raison d’être!

    • You are most welcome, Chris! And thank you for your kind words and the follow! I agree, cats and alliteration certainly complement one another. Each cat is unique just like the poetic words we use to describe their actions. Hope you are having a good day and keep up the inspired poetry on your blog!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  9. beverlydyer says:

    I have three of these, triple P’s. Like this poem!

    • Thank you, Bev! We have two cats & two dogs, so I am never at a loss for blog material 😉 They keep me on my toes & make my life more interesting! I couldn’t imagine living without them. I hope you have a wonderful week, my friend 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  10. F.G.M. says:

    So nice, all cat lovers will recognize their beloved friends in this poem 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • You are most welcome, my friend, and thank you! My wife and I have two cats and two dogs, so there’s never a dull moment 😉 Hope you’re having a wonderful week!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

