Eating crow

Like clockwork, I saw a
crow strutting in the
front lawn again
this morning.
Its plumage puffed pronouncedly
as it patrolled the perimeter,
persistently pecking under
every step, stump and
stick for passing
insects.
Returning to my Special K
cereal, the wet flakes have
gone soggy and stagnant.
The protein I lost,
the crow gained
in one second.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eating crow

    • Awesome, Ron! I just read the poem and it was quite refreshing and educational. Love the bit about “swaggering the swagger of his aggravating ancestors down the street.” We use the term clever as a crow to describe ourselves and other animals. Humans are so conceited – crows invented clever before we were even conceived, the feather fell to the ground before the letters. Our labels and scientific names are not precursors to life. We study life to cope with its complexity and carry secrets with us scribed in dog-eared notebooks that mark our differences. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend, and thank you for sharing this poem with me!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  1. Evolpeac says:

    This is wonderful. I enjoyed it. Thanks 😀

  2. Eva PoeteX says:

    I really like this piece! The alliteration especially! 🙂 Great ending too.

    • Thank you! I really appreciate your kind words! I love alliteration and am usually searching my mind for a tongue twisting rhyme. This poem felt like a perfect complement to my previous post “A different knowhow.” Humans are so up tight about knowing or explaining everything. While we are lost in thought, crows are too busy living life to care about pre-packaged cereal or poetic inspiration. The only way the crow ‘knows’ life is by pecking for grubs in the grass. Hope you are having a relaxing weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Great images of the crow. Birds are fascinating to watch as they peck about the garden.

    • Thank you! Yes, I’ve always respected crows. Humans don’t give them enough credit. We may complain about their cawing, but don’t have a problem talking and thinking and shouting amongst ourselves! However, the crows don’t care – they need to find food fast by air to somewhere 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  4. Andy says:

    Approval of Crow from Jackdaw 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    I spied the same crow this morning, although I had eggs instead of cereal. Such ironies crack me up…

  6. twisty turnee arrival to title. I like it. 🙂 What will happen if you have oatmeal?!

Leave a Reply

