Involuntary alliance

There is a dull throb in my temples
and a stutter-step in my veins
that resonates through my body
to the core of my soul’s being.
I try to shake these sensations
as if I could lose my nerve, but my
energy is a wooden rocking chair
engrained on a 98.6 degree curve.
My chest swells in and out, even while
asleep, lungs living within and without me.
This brain stem and heart strings me along
for a walk whether I want to or not —
I am a lab rat to my spinning circulation,
a petrie dish cultured for my immunization,
strange, unseen chemical reactions
spawning my conscience.
Who entrusted my organs to
this involuntary alliance?

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Involuntary alliance

  1. healthiestbeauty says:

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

    • Thank you, Jennifer! I always appreciate your kind and thoughtful words. Really enjoyed your ‘Modern Man’ post. Warning: Tyler liked this poem a lot. Hope you have a wonderful day!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • Thanks Tyler.
        I always have a hard time coming up with clever and witty comments to make on posts but I don’t let that stop me.
        I really enjoy all of your poems.
        I thought the warning was fun!
        Jennifer

  2. could almost feel the anxiety in this!

    • Thank you! Good, that was the feeling I was going for with this poem. BTW, I’ve really enjoyed your most recent posts. Very colorful, creative and thought-provoking. Keep up the inspired work 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. words4jp says:

    very cute! i definitely feel like a lab rat but I am a 97.3:)

  4. Mocha says:

    Reblogged this on liveuntil and commented:
    One awesome poet

  5. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    Sometimes I wonder…

  6. indybirdphotographer says:

    Hi Tyler. Lovely words-you give the reader much to contemplate. I really like the title of your blog, the subject matter, as well as the views of your world.

    • Thank you, Julie! I appreciate your kind words and support for my poetry and blog! Your photographs and musings are very inspiring and unique as well. Keep up the excellent work on your blog, my friend! Hope you are having a wonderful day 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  7. “I am a lab rat to my spinning circulation,

    a petrie dish cultured for my immunization,

    strange, unseen chemical reactions spawning my conscience.”
    Loved it.

  8. Republicou isso em O LADO ESCURO DA LUAe comentado:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Leave a Reply

