The crickets’ sigh

The crickets' sigh

Lily pads
between earth and sky,
hovering over the waters
of a clear summer in July.

The carpet spread out,
green coasters with white flowers
that sprout, reach upwards
to greet the dawn.

Every morning
this path leads the way
to and from a beaver’s dam,
underneath and on top of
the floating, soggy moat
where cattail dreams never capsize
and frogs chase passing mosquitoes,
while dragonflies drift on the breeze.

As the setting sun
collapses into the sink
comprised of a pond
just shallow enough
to dig your toes in
and walk around
the algal blooms
without holding
your breath,
you’ll find the world
is softer here.
Amid a land of jagged lies –
remember, the only truth
resides in nature.
Listen to the crickets’ sigh.

poem and photo from ‘Nostalgia, Naturally’
by Tyler Pedersen, Copyright 2007

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The crickets’ sigh

  1. Rosemarie says:

    I love this poem about water lilies. You have a wonderful way with words to capture nature. Thanks so much for liking the posts I’ve put up on my Europe blog.

    • Thank you, Rosemarie! I appreciate your kind words. I’ve always had a close connection with Nature and my goal is to share this passion with those around me. I’m glad the lilies rubbed off on you, just as your blog has rubbed off on me. I look forward to following more of your travels. Hope you are having a great day 🙂

  2. Two of my favorites: beaver lodges and lily pads. 🙂 Found almost the same setting on my way to Alaska last summer up in the Yukon Territory. We were fortunate that the beavers were working during daylight hours right in back of where we were camped. Enjoyed the way you captured the scene with your poem. –Curt

    • Thank you, Curt! Wetlands and riparian areas wouldn’t be the same without beavers! Of course, I’m partial to these small mammals even more now because I’m living in Corvallis, home of the Oregon State University Beavers!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

      • Had a friend who headed up the athletic department at American River College in Sacramento, also the Beavers. Love the sense of humor that goes along with choosing beavers as a team mascot. I think I am supposed to be a Duck fan since my daughter graduated for the U of O in Eugene. 🙂 –Curt

  3. You so inspire me. Thank you!

    • You are most welcome and thank you so much for your kind & thoughtful comment! It really made my day 🙂 I hope you’e having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler 🙂

  4. I was fortunate to love in Paris for a while and whilst there I made several visits to Monet’s garden at Giverny where you can still see the lily ponds that he painted throughout the seasons. Your picture and words are – as usual – lovely. The lily pads do actually look like a path you can step onto…..before plunging into the depths of the lake!

Leave a Reply

