How you lay your hearts down

1-Heather I have a confession to make.  I don’t write love poems very often.  I guess you could say that most of my poems aren’t infatuated or inspired by the female sex, unless it revolves around the complete woman called Mother Earth.  However, six years ago on July 31st, 2009, I met my future wife, Heather, at the county fair in Myrtle Point, Oregon.  We moved in together that winter, were married in Montana on June 18th, 2011 and just celebrated four wonderful years of marriage by buying our first house.  The poem below is the first Heather-inspired love poem I have ever written.  I’ve written a few more since then, but this one will always captivate my passion for the most important woman (besides Mother Nature) in my life!  To those of you who have found that special someone already, hold on to them with all your might.  And to those who are still looking, hold on to who you are and the universe will find a way to complete your soul – trust me, it’s worth the wait.

Hear that sound?

Pitter patter.

Your pulse

in step with mine.

Love speaks through

intimate beats.

Breaks in conversation

filled by throbbing veins

yearning to close the gap

between bodies.

Oxygen exchanged,

mouth to mouth

life-saving kisses

drown out talk.

This is an age-old

contest we both

can win in time,

depending on

how you lay your

heart down.

It’s your hand

and mine.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How you lay your hearts down

  1. You have my heart! What a sweet and wonderful man I married!

  2. Gallivanta says:

    How romantic; love poems. And how lovely is that… a devotee of Mother Earth who finds a partner called Heather at Myrtle Point. Your partnership was destined!

  3. Jen E Town says:

    Cultivate, nurture,; weed every day; most precious garden

  4. markeschrull says:

    What a great poem, and a great story. Congrats on your anniversary. A very good post indeed. I think I’l share this on FB and Twitter. I am a poet sometimes, a photographer most times, and a husband all the time. Good blog you have going here. —Mark—

    • Thank you so much, Mark! You are very kind and thoughtful 😊 I appreciate the share on FB and Twitter as well! My grandparents have been married 60+ years, so I hope our marriage goes the distance too! Keep inspiring the world with your blog! Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend.
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  5. Happy Anniversary to both of you! Wishing you many more years of love and adventure. 🙂

  6. mtcandia says:

    Beautiful and intimate.May your love grow even deeper through the years.

    • Thank you so much, my friend! You are very kind and thoughtful 🙂 My grandparents have been married 60+ years, so we hope our marriage goes the distance as well. Have a wonderful Sunday!
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

