Natural vernacular

One clear night I heard a honking,
though not from a car,
it echoed overhead, traveling far.
I tilted my head up towards the wandering sky,
stars all aglow, twinkling together in time.
My eyes caught a white arrow headed due south,
high above the mingling shadows
of billowing chimneys, sagging power lines
and leafless tree crowds.
Pointing with the authority of a trusty compass,
twenty geese graced the inkwell of space,
tracing constellations with wings on the fly.
What are they honking for?  I think I know why.
To exist and be heard apart from the noise,
while the rest of us walk on, mumbling meaningless words –
just listen to ourselves speak, no regard
for the natural vernacular of a creature in its place.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Natural vernacular

  1. Gallivanta says:

    So true. Because animals don’t verbalize and blurb-a-lize like we do, we were inclined to believe they were dumb. The truth, I suspect, is that they use their “words” more wisely than we do.

  2. John Hric says:

    I would imagine one of the purposes of honking is to maintain the formation through the night. So that they do not drift apart. However I like the philosophical existential reasons just as much.

    • Thank you, John! Geese are like flying ships sounding their fog horns to alert their neighbors 😉 Hope you have a wonderful day, my friend! I always enjoy your inspiring blog 🙂
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  3. They speak for a reason and know where they’re going at all times. 🙂
    I feel a sense of pride when I see Canadian geese flying in formation over me. I actually stop as if to salute them.

Leave a Reply

