Ancient eavesdropper

If nature knows not of my existence,
aside from the small space I occupy,
then I am a tolerable roommate
lodging among noble beasts
who have adapted to separate ways
of surviving.

I see the squirrel, elk and crow
leaving their trails of tracks and feathers,
the duff stirred and signed in a sacred fashion.
May we converge underground,
tangled in the roots of an ancient eavesdropper
who has absorbed all the stories of this world.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Ancient eavesdropper

  1. cariwiese says:

    Reblogged this on Cari Wiese and commented:
    This is amazing! Love me some Tyler Pedersen!

    • cariwiese says:

      PS: Thank you for liking my blog post #BlogFlash2013 Day 7: Nature, although I think your post would have made a much better piece!

      • Thank you, Cari! I appreciate your kind words and am very excited to read more of your blog. I especially enjoyed your wonderful words about nature πŸ™‚ I am new to blogging but am starting to get my feet under me. Hope you are having a great day!

      • cariwiese says:

        Thank you! I wouldn’t stress about being new, obviously you have the talent to do very well. Keep up the great content, and readers will flock to you πŸ™‚

  2. This definitely lifted my spirits. It was very meditative, and I enjoyed the momentary feeling of connection with the earth.

    • Thank you! I appreciate your kind words and am glad that you were uplifted by my poem. As creative spirits, that’s what we are here, to spread stories like seeds that will, in turn, foster the foundation of future generations of storytellers.

  3. vbassoc says:

    Tylerβ€”I saw that you have signed on to follow my blog and, as a consequence, was grateful for the opportunity to learn about you. Yours is an interesting life. I enjoy your art and look forward to reading your work.

    • Thank you! Yes, it has been a full, rich life thus far and it’s only just begun, which gives me great hope for the future. I’m very blessed to have so many creative souls in my corner, and mine in yours. I look forward to reading more of your work as well πŸ™‚

  4. fallcorn1936 says:

    Thanks for stopping by my site. Love your poem. I find that in many cases, it is easier to write in rhyme than in phrase. Good luck with your new career.

    • Thank you! I appreciate your kind words and for following me. I just started following your blog and look forward to reading more of your posts. From one pond enthusiast to another, keep up the great work! Hope you have an excellent weekend πŸ™‚

  5. Hi I like your lament, its soothing to think there are so many dreamers
    Thanks for looking at my blog

    • Thank you for following my blog, Christos! I enjoy the creative energy here on WordPress and am amazed and inspired by so many talented artists, including yourself. Keep up the great work. Cheers πŸ™‚

  6. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    Just excellent!

    • Thank you, Inese! I appreciate your kind words. From what I’ve seen on your blog, you are a very gifted artist with an impressive portfolio of paintings. I feel so blessed to be a part of this inspired WordPress community and look forward to following your plein air, all natural blog! Hope you have a great Friday and relaxing weekend πŸ™‚

  7. fgassette says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  8. i type freehand says:

    Wow, great! πŸ™‚ thanks

  9. sharonstjoan says:

    Reblogged this on Voices and Visions and commented:
    A beautiful poem by Tyler Pedersen…

  10. majilly says:

    I freaking love your blog!!!!! The concept, the writing, the photographs… Everything. Well done!!!

    • Thank you, majilly! I appreciate your kind words and support. My muse is guided by Mother Nature and I hope to inspire others to creatively explore her wondrous realm. I hope you are having a relaxing weekend!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  11. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:

    In celebration of Earth Day, I share with you the inspiration behind my blog’s name – an ancient tree. Leaf by leaf, root by root, I continue to humbly dig and explore Nature’s timeless worth in photographs and written word. The highest praise I save for soil, for it will reclaim my skin and bones to grow more stories. Cheers, Tyler πŸ™‚

  12. Shay MacKay says:

    Gorgeous. Can’t wait to read more of your poetry. How perfect for Earth Day!

  13. johncoyote says:

    Good to live in peace with nature. A beautiful poem for nature.

    • Thank you, John! I appreciate your kind words and support. Mother Earth is my muse and I her humble servant, defending her cause with my words and actions. Hope you have a good night πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  14. northernmalewhite says:

    simple nature
    and words

    thanks

    • You are most welcome. And thank you for your succinct summary of my poem….it was spot on. I am all about keeping my words simple and more universal. Who said poetry had to be confusing? Hope you are having a good day, my friend.
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Ancient eavesdropper | The ancient eavesdropper

  16. Trees. πŸ™‚

    So pretty. Tyler, I am pleased to see this! Happy New to you, you cool dude. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, Karen! I hope you had fun ringing in the New Year, my friend. I can already feel good vibes from 2014…it’s going to be an awesome year πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  17. I especially love the phrase “tolerable roommate.” It resonates with so much about what I believe should be our relationship to the natural world. Coexist. And pick up after yourself πŸ™‚

    • Thank you kindly, my friend! I’m glad you enjoyed my poem! I completely agree with you. I’d like to leave this planet in better shape than I found it πŸ™‚ I hope you had fun ringing in the New Year…all the best to you & yours in 2014!
      Cheers,
      Tyler πŸ™‚

  18. debcoats says:

    well done, I can feel you connection with the earth, I think maybe you have Shaman spirit inside of you πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Deb! As an Ecologist & Poet, I have literally & figuratively planted my heart in the earth! I’m not sure if you’ve watched the 90’s TV show Northern Exposure, but I can certainly relate to Ed’s litmus test to see if he is meant to be a Shaman…planting your hand in the ground & pulling it out to find roots growing inside your palm. Being out in Nature is as much a empirical experience as it is spiritual. I hope you had fun ringing in the New Year, my friend! May you & yours be blessed in 2014 πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

  19. A brilliant way to start a blog. I’m so glad you posted this. It exposes the roots of your endless creativity and respect for nature. Wonderful! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, my friend! I figured I needed to retrace my roots & go back to the beginning of my blog, where my mind’s eye is endlessly inspired by Nature. It’s been wonderful having you along for this creative journey…we are kindred spirits who share the same root system, so-to-speak! Best wishes to you & yours in 2014 πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

