In my element

In the
silent
morning
hours –
before
the world
wakes –
light
passes
thru the
blinds –
& dances
on our
face.

Kindred
spirits –
bound
by our
convictions –
free to
speak our
peace.

Stars stake claim
to the night sky –
a billion gold strikes
boom & bust –
in the blink of
an eye.

I am a
mirror that
shatters –
shards
reflecting
& refracting
a million mes –
each piece
taking a
stab at
imperfection.

To find our faults
& face our fears –
To make a name
& claim our fame –
To live & die
and know why
we’re here.

Thunder
rumbles
overhead –
anvil clouds
drop their
tonnage –
giant
hail pelts
the earth –
I inhale
the heavy
air.

In the
midst
of a
storm –
between
sheets of
rain –
I dissolve
where I
stand.

Put
your
ear
to
the
earth –
drown
out
the
drone
of
society –
hear
only
the
grass
grow
& worms
shuffle.

My mind
melds with
the moment –
I am an
inseparable
component –
pure & true
in my element.

About tyler4turtles

I am an avid photographer, poet, ecologist, bookworm, blogger, art enthusiast and runner who calls Montana home but lives in Oregon.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In my element

  1. mincs1 says:

    I like the “earthiness” of this piece :)

  2. Sounds like my 5:30 AM writing time in the sunroom. :)

  3. keelymyles says:

    A-m-a-z-i-n-g!

    • Thank you kindly, Keely! I hope you are doing well, my friend :) I’ve been so busy with work that I haven’t had time to reply to my comments. I apologize for my tardiness. Always appreciate your support. Have a wonderful rest of your weekend and a great week ahead :)
      Cheers,
      Tyler

      • keelymyles says:

        No worries, Tyler. I know how busy we all get. It’s good to have work. I’m stuffing my summer full of fun so I’ve had a hiatus from much blogging and Facebook. You are kind to reply. Take care, Mr.

  4. sheketechad says:

    Absolutely love the ending stanza!

  5. maryb95 says:

    Reblogged this on Mary Burns, Seeker of Truth and Beauty and commented:
    beautiful

  6. Hello there Tyler4turtles!
    I really like your poem! One phrase you used made me think of one painting. Have you heard of the painting “Kindred Spirits” by Durand? He painted Thomas Cole with William Cullen Bryant surrounded by nature. Quite an appropriate image for the theme of the poem…
    I also love the idea of listening to ground and trying to hear worms shuffle…
    All the best,

    Sasha

    • Thank you kindly, Sasha! I am familiar with that painting….it’s very beautiful :) I agree…very appropriate. I hope you’re having a wonderful day. I appreciate you stopping by my blog. Do come again :)
      Cheers,
      Tyler

Leave a Reply

